Inserting registered users directly in mysql

Discussion and education for beginner / novice programmers interested in embarking on the development process to take advantage of the extensible nature of the Joomla! CMS.

Moderators: tjay, seadap, Rogue4ngel, matthewhayashida

Forum rules
Post Reply
BernardoCR
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2008 2:11 am

Inserting registered users directly in mysql

Post by BernardoCR » Tue Jan 08, 2008 11:07 pm

Hello,

I'm the owner of a IRC Network and I'm trying to "integrate" joomla with IRC Services. I use Services to provide user and channels registration with mysql database and I willing to make the following:

Every user that register a nickname on the IRC Network automatically have their nicknames registered as a user in my website. That can be done inserting some information directly on the joomla mysql database.

The problem is that before programming the IRC Services I tried to test to see if I could do that on the mysql and joomla recognize that as a user. Here is the answer:

Some functions on joomla accepted the new information as a user. For example, community builder showed on "Last registered user:" the one I inserted, but on the Users administration and I tried to Login with username and password on the site and it showed as Non-existant user. I also tried to go on "Forgot password" and typed my login and e-mail. It showed me "User information have been sent to your e-mail addess" but no e-mail was received.

Can someone try to help me with that? I want to know in wich tables of the mysql database I have to insert record, so the user can be totally recognized by Joomla.

Thanks,

Bernardo

User avatar
RussW
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 173
Joined: Sun Oct 22, 2006 4:42 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: Inserting registered users directly in mysql

Post by RussW » Wed Jan 09, 2008 3:09 am

Search for "aro" and "user tables" this will yield many results for similar if not the same transaction you are trying to acheive. It is most likely that you are not updating all the required tables.

I beleive these are the related tables;

  -  http://forum.joomla.org/index.php/topic,239162.0.html
Checkout the Joomla! Administrators Security Checklist in the Security Forum...
Installation or Configuration Problems? Joomla! Tools Suite? viewtopic.php?t=136328l

BernardoCR
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2008 2:11 am

Re: Inserting registered users directly in mysql

Post by BernardoCR » Wed Jan 09, 2008 3:39 am

Thanks,

I'll try that.

User avatar
ianmac
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 237
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2005 11:01 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Inserting registered users directly in mysql

Post by ianmac » Wed Jan 09, 2008 5:07 pm

Another thing to try is to get Joomla! to pull the information from the IRC server.  You can do this with Joomla! 1.5 by using a User plugin.

Ian
Help test my Component XML Generator Tool!
http://extensions.joomla.org/component/option,com_mtree/task,viewlink/link_id,1997/Itemid,35/
All feedback appreciated!

BernardoCR
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2008 2:11 am

Re: Inserting registered users directly in mysql

Post by BernardoCR » Wed Jan 09, 2008 9:17 pm

Yes, I though about that but I'm afraid of someone trying to phpinject codes into the IRC Servers and try to get passwords and stuff like that.

BernardoCR
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2008 2:11 am

Re: Inserting registered users directly in mysql

Post by BernardoCR » Wed Jan 09, 2008 9:18 pm

By the way, I read the post RussW showed and it works!

I had to put information on the following tables:

jos_comprofile
jos_users
jos_core_acl_aro
jos_core_acl_groups_aro_map

User avatar
RussW
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 173
Joined: Sun Oct 22, 2006 4:42 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: Inserting registered users directly in mysql

Post by RussW » Wed Jan 09, 2008 9:30 pm

Pleased to hear that, excellent news, good luck with your site....

If you are happy that the post is now resolved, could I ask if you could now go back to your FIRST post and update it to SOLVED in the Message Icon drop down box to allow other users to quickly find resolved issues. Thank you.
Checkout the Joomla! Administrators Security Checklist in the Security Forum...
Installation or Configuration Problems? Joomla! Tools Suite? viewtopic.php?t=136328l


Post Reply