Page 1 of 1

FAQ - How to include IE7 FIX by Dean Edwards in Joomla templates

Posted: Fri Aug 26, 2005 8:49 pm
by guilliam
hello,. have checked the "other" forum and there are questions there that is exactly as mine.

QUESTION: where do i put the calling script in my mambo template???

heres a quick link:

http://dean.edwards.name/IE7/usage/

for those asking what IE7 fix is.. check the link:

http://dean.edwards.name/IE7/overview/

thank you for any replies...

(hope hazman sees this.. i'll give you a pm hazman)

Re: IE7 FIX by Dean Edwards - PLease teach where to place in the $ambo template.

Posted: Fri Aug 26, 2005 9:15 pm
by Dragon Company
Think it's in head tag .. after all meta ... so just before end tag of head part ....  :-\

Re: IE7 FIX by Dean Edwards - PLease teach where to place in the $ambo template.

Posted: Fri Aug 26, 2005 10:03 pm
by Predator
Think it's in head tag .. after all meta ... so just before end tag of head part ....


This is quite right i.e.


Code: Select all

<?php
defined( '_VALID_MOS' ) or die( 'Direct Access to this location is not allowed.' );
// needed to seperate the ISO number from the language file constant _ISO
$iso = explode( '=', _ISO );
// xml prolog
echo '<?xml version="1.0" encoding="'. $iso[1] .'"?' .'>';
?>
<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">
<head>
<?php mosShowHead(); ?>
<?php
if ( $my->id ) {
   initEditor();
}
$collspan_offset = ( mosCountModules( 'right' ) + mosCountModules( 'user2' ) ) ? 2 : 1;
//script to determine which div setup for layout to use based on module configuration
$user1 = 0;
$user2 = 0;
$colspan = 0;
$right = 0;
// banner combos

//user1 combos
if ( mosCountModules( 'user1' ) + mosCountModules( 'user2' ) == 2) {
   $user1 = 2;
   $user2 = 2;
   $colspan = 3;
} elseif ( mosCountModules( 'user1' ) == 1 ) {
   $user1 = 1;
   $colspan = 1;
} elseif ( mosCountModules( 'user2' ) == 1 ) {
   $user2 = 1;
   $colspan = 1;
}

//right based combos
if ( mosCountModules( 'right' ) and ( empty( $_REQUEST['task'] ) || $_REQUEST['task'] != 'edit' ) ) {
   $right = 1;
}
?>
<"meta http-equiv="Content-Type content="text/html; <?php echo _ISO; ?>" />


<!-- compliance patch for microsoft browsers -->
<!--[if lt IE 7]>
<script src="/ie7/ie7-standard-p.js" type="text/javascript">
</script>
<![endif]-->



Important is after a meta http-equiv="Content-Type and before


btw this are nice "hacks" from Dean Edwards.

Re: IE7 FIX by Dean Edwards - PLease teach where to place in the $ambo template.

Posted: Fri Aug 26, 2005 10:21 pm
by mambostoked
thats where i put mine and it seems to work ;)

Re: IE7 FIX by Dean Edwards - PLease teach where to place in the $ambo template.

Posted: Sun Aug 28, 2005 12:26 am
by guilliam
@Predator, thank you so much for the prompt reply.. i applied what you posted. apologies wasnt able to reply sooner. i'll make another walkthru for this(very helpful for newbies and be added to my guilliam's idi*t guides. .ehheheh)

@dragon, thanks mate! ~winks~

guilliam

Re: IE7 FIX by Dean Edwards - PLease teach where to place in the $ambo template.

Posted: Sun Aug 28, 2005 12:55 am
by Predator
No prob you`re welcome ;)

Re: IE7 FIX by Dean Edwards - PLease teach where to place in the $ambo template.

Posted: Fri Jan 13, 2006 7:29 am
by jloyzaga
don't laugh

But in which files???

Joe

Couldn't find the http-equiv="Content-Type  string anywhere in my copy of joomla

Re: IE7 FIX by Dean Edwards - PLease teach where to place in the $ambo template.

Posted: Fri Jan 13, 2006 7:37 am
by Damienov
oot
isnt this post supposed to be in the FAQ forum?

Re: IE7 FIX by Dean Edwards - PLease teach where to place in the $ambo template.

Posted: Wed Jan 18, 2006 10:32 am
by guilliam
[ To be moved to the FAQ as requested. ]

- g

Re: FAQ - How to include IE7 FIX by Dean Edwards in Joomla templates

Posted: Mon Apr 10, 2006 8:05 pm
by dynedain
I have used this set of scripts several times on my Mambo/Joomla sites. I'd like to put it in the /includes folder rather than add it to my templates. Of course, that's easy enough, but I'd like to provide it easily to others as well as a component. Can a mambot/component/module install files to the /includes directory?