Page 1 of 1

JTable class, can it create read update multiple tables?

Posted: Sun Sep 16, 2007 12:20 pm
by flyingwombats
Im working through learning joomla 1.5 extension dev. I am now making my own extensions but it uses a single table and states JTable can do all from a SINGLE table.

Can it be used with multiple tables? Im used to multi joins in procedural  php but not in a class environment, any help or suggestions gratefully received...Would another Object/class be better?

Re: JTable class, can it create read update multiple tables?

Posted: Sun Sep 16, 2007 5:41 pm
by ianmac
You can override JTable to do just about anything you want, but it generally isn't the best practice.

You more likely want to build your join into your model instead.

Ian

Re: JTable class, can it create read update multiple tables?

Posted: Sun Sep 16, 2007 7:49 pm
by flyingwombats
So use the model to do the join then JTable to access it as if it were one table. *bangs head on table* thanks , obvious now.