how can I display my component errors?

Have a programming question regarding your component, plug-in, extension or core hacks? Have an interesting tidbit, FAQ or programming tip you’d like to share? This is the place for you.

Moderators: tjay, seadap, Rogue4ngel, matthewhayashida

Post Reply
User avatar
Segolas
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2007 2:34 pm

how can I display my component errors?

Post by Segolas » Wed Dec 05, 2007 12:05 pm

I'm getting crazy with a blank screen of death on my component. Obviously it works fin on my pc, but it is white online.

Is there any  way to let joomla show *all* errors, warnings etc etc?

How can I understand what's wrong if I can't see any error?

Regards
--Segolas
Visita il mio blog a FUMETTI:
http://segolas.ilcannocchiale.it

User avatar
bascherz
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 86
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2006 1:33 am
Location: Vienna, VA
Contact:

Re: how can I display my component errors?

Post by bascherz » Wed Dec 05, 2007 12:21 pm

I have found from experience that testing in a Windows environment can cause you to miss certain subtle problems. For instance, Windows does not enforce case-sensitivity on file names. You might check that first. Also, your files may be in DOS format and may have to be in Unix format, or even UTF-8 format (Joomla 1.5). Then there is the permission thing, which is not usually an issue in Windows. However, many webhosting services are setup such that files you upload are owned by your user account whereas files created by a PHP script are owned by the webserver daemon (https, nobody, etc.). You need to ensure you have at least global read permissions on all the files comprising a Joomla site.

Hope this helps.
__________________
Bruce Scherzinger

User avatar
Segolas
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2007 2:34 pm

Re: how can I display my component errors?

Post by Segolas » Wed Dec 05, 2007 1:40 pm

I'm on a linux box (ubuntu 7.04). So permissions and other stuff are allright.

I really need to see what is wrong.
Visita il mio blog a FUMETTI:
http://segolas.ilcannocchiale.it

User avatar
ianmac
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 237
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2005 11:01 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: how can I display my component errors?

Post by ianmac » Thu Dec 06, 2007 2:25 am

The setting you need to change is in php.ini, which your host may or may not allow you to override.  Contact your host regarding this.

Ia
Help test my Component XML Generator Tool!
http://extensions.joomla.org/component/option,com_mtree/task,viewlink/link_id,1997/Itemid,35/
All feedback appreciated!

User avatar
Segolas
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2007 2:34 pm

Re: how can I display my component errors?

Post by Segolas » Thu Dec 06, 2007 8:41 am

mmm Maybe I can do this via htaccess... do you know which php flags are involved?
Visita il mio blog a FUMETTI:
http://segolas.ilcannocchiale.it

User avatar
bascherz
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 86
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2006 1:33 am
Location: Vienna, VA
Contact:

Re: how can I display my component errors?

Post by bascherz » Thu Dec 06, 2007 12:26 pm

I assume this is an error that you can't see by setting error reporting to Maximum in the site back end? That won't help with 40x errors, but it works pretty well for coding errors. The error messages are output directly to your browser.
__________________
Bruce Scherzinger

User avatar
Segolas
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2007 2:34 pm

Re: how can I display my component errors?

Post by Segolas » Thu Dec 06, 2007 12:41 pm

I just ptu that option to maximum and debug to yes. But this helps only on localhost. I think ianmac is right and is something  that have to deal with php.ini on server.

But I solved in this "dumb" way:

1) Commenting all the target file.
2) Then uncommented first line of code.
3.a) the page display --> then the error is not in the first line, uncomment the second and so on...
3.b) the page doesn't display? --> maybe the problem is here... maybe not...
Visita il mio blog a FUMETTI:
http://segolas.ilcannocchiale.it

User avatar
ianmac
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 237
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2005 11:01 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: how can I display my component errors?

Post by ianmac » Thu Dec 06, 2007 2:44 pm

If you really want to do this right then get Eclipse and the PHPEclipse plugin and use it with XDebug to debug your component.  It'll make things a lot easier.

You will get more from changing error reporting in PHP, but no where near what you get with XDEbug.

Ian
Help test my Component XML Generator Tool!
http://extensions.joomla.org/component/option,com_mtree/task,viewlink/link_id,1997/Itemid,35/
All feedback appreciated!

User avatar
Segolas
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2007 2:34 pm

Re: how can I display my component errors?

Post by Segolas » Thu Dec 06, 2007 3:43 pm

I've got phpeclipse. Ad in localhost everything works fine. Every error is shown. The only problem is in the host.

I ask the host managers if they can do something
Visita il mio blog a FUMETTI:
http://segolas.ilcannocchiale.it


Post Reply