How to connect to SCM?

If you have any 'mechanical' forge related issues/suggestions, pop them in here.
Post Reply
User avatar
musicones
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 5:52 am
Contact:

How to connect to SCM?

Post by musicones » Sat Sep 17, 2005 12:56 pm

Hi,

I've read the sourceforge docs and tried with my own knowledge but without proper information
I don't want to trial by error.

So if someone could please tell me how to access my repository (SVN):

I tried this in TortoiseSVN: svn://[email protected]/svnroot/joomlagerman

but that didn't work, I couldn't get connection to host.

What do I have to do to connect? Do you use SHH? Do I need: to upload keys or something like that?


thanks and regards
musicones
Joomla! German Translation Coordinator
Translation Partner Site for www.joomla.de

User avatar
rhuk
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 217
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:02 pm

Re: How to connect to SCM?

Post by rhuk » Sat Sep 17, 2005 1:13 pm

To tell you the truth I still have problems with initial import and have only been able to import with the command line using the following example:

svn import --username rhuk -m "new import" http://scm.joomla.org/svn/repos/myproj/trunk

This will import all files from the current directory on down into a repository called "myproj" and a directory under that called trunk/

After that initial import is done, and as long as the permissions are correct, you should be able to use Tortoise (or Subclipse plugin for eclipse - my favorite) and set it up as follows:

Repos Url: http://scm.joomla.org/svn/repos/myproj/trunk

username: rhuk (or your forge username)

Then just checkout

Hope this helps
rhuk
http://www.rockettheme.com - RocketTheme Template Club
http://www.rockettheme.com/aff - RocketTheme Affiliate Program

User avatar
musicones
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 5:52 am
Contact:

Re: How to connect to SCM?

Post by musicones » Sat Sep 17, 2005 1:49 pm

What is the right Pathway to someones project?

My Repository Name: joomla!German
Server as given from Sourceforge: Subversion(scm.joomla.org)
Repository Path: /svnroot/joomlagerman

So, now I nee the right pathway to go...

I try: http://scm.joomla.org/svnroot/joomlagerman        - wrong
I try: http://scm.joomla.org/svn/repos/joomlagerman      - seems to work

If you didn't tell me something about: /svn/repos where should we know about it?

Information provided by Sourceforge Project > Source Code isn't correct.


What kind of command line are you speaking of? I'm using a Windows System it has no integrated functions for SCMs.

thanks
musicones
Joomla! German Translation Coordinator
Translation Partner Site for www.joomla.de

User avatar
musicones
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 5:52 am
Contact:

Re: How to connect to SCM?

Post by musicones » Sat Sep 17, 2005 3:00 pm

I tried this:

TortoiseSVN > Import

Address: http://scm.joomla.org/svn/repos/joomlagerman/

and inserted an comment: First import

All works fine, the files seem to add.

But then I get an error report:
Attachments
error_scm.jpg
Joomla! German Translation Coordinator
Translation Partner Site for www.joomla.de

User avatar
rhuk
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 217
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:02 pm

Re: How to connect to SCM?

Post by rhuk » Sat Sep 17, 2005 3:37 pm

musicones wrote:What is the right Pathway to someones project?

My Repository Name: joomla!German
Server as given from Sourceforge: Subversion(scm.joomla.org)
Repository Path: /svnroot/joomlagerman

So, now I nee the right pathway to go...

I try: http://scm.joomla.org/svnroot/joomlagerman         - wrong
I try: http://scm.joomla.org/svn/repos/joomlagerman      - seems to work

If you didn't tell me something about: /svn/repos where should we know about it?

Information provided by Sourceforge Project > Source Code isn't correct.




Yes, the /svnroot path is a physical path and very misleading.  I have already opened up a ticket and I believe there's a change request in process to address this.

Regarding the error, you have "Association Required on Commit" setting turned on for your repository.  Go to the repository "edit" page, and uncheck this check box.  Should work after that.
rhuk
http://www.rockettheme.com - RocketTheme Template Club
http://www.rockettheme.com/aff - RocketTheme Affiliate Program

User avatar
Boomzilla
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 135
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2005 3:43 am
Location: San Francisco - earthquake ground zero
Contact:

Re: How to connect to SCM?

Post by Boomzilla » Sat Sep 17, 2005 8:42 pm

Rhuk - thanks for the advice to forge users on this topic. I've asked Doug Hunley and his support team to monitor this forum and post advice also -- I'm afraid I'm not much of a SCM repository expert ;-)

Col
Rich people are eccentric. Poor people are strange. I just aspire to be moderately odd.

User avatar
musicones
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 5:52 am
Contact:

Re: How to connect to SCM?

Post by musicones » Sun Sep 18, 2005 6:18 am

Good Morning (It's about 8:00 am here)  :D,

so I did it yesterday. I could Import my whole project. Since I worked with SVN before
after having the information i needed from rhuk it wasn't a big problem.

So, my step by step explanation:

You've set up your project and want to commit some code.

1. Create an Repository under Source Code > Create Repository

  • Enter Directory Name but NOTE: The directory will be created in the svn/repos folder, where all repository folders of each projects are. It could happen that your desired projectfolder is not available, bette use an prefix for your repositoryfolders. Once a folder and a Repository is created, you cannot change the foldername and you cannot delete the repository
  • Enter Repository Name
  • Choose Server, you can choose between CVS and SVN. I did it with SVN so I can speak only for this one
  • Don't check Association Required on Commit. I did it and I got an Error using TortoiseSVN. I don't know what Associations are in combination with SVN, i first thought that would be the comment when you commit, but that's not. You can always change this later!!

2. Lets get the path to your SVN-SCM:

After creation you can see your repository in the repository list.
You've got fields for server and Repository path.

So the path should be something like that: scm.joomla.org/svnroot/your_repository_directory_name        <-- but that's wrong!!
It's been submitted to the bug tracker and will hopefully corrected very soon.

Rhuk told me the right pathes so this is correct: scm.joomla.org/svn/repos/your_repository_directory_name

3. What protocol will be used?

Having worked with SVN before I thought it would be svn:// or svn+ssh://. It is used on an other sourceforge site.
But here we use http://.

To complete the whole line: http://scm.joomla.org/svn/repos/your_repository_directory_name
If you put that in your browser you can browse your repository, having no commits it should be browsable but empty.

4. TortoiseSVN an SVN Client

You can download it on tortoisesvn.tigris.org. After Installation and reboot you can use see it
when you klick on the right mouse button in an explorer window (SVN Checkout and TortoiseSVN).
Browse to your project on your local machine and go to TortoiseSVN > Import
then enter your http://scm.joomla.org/svn/repos/your_re ... ctory_name in the first line
give some comments like "First import" and click OK, enjoy your import!!

That's it, when it's ready you can click ok and check online if the commit was successfull.

NOTES: This little explanation is ment technical only! It's very important to create an intelligent structure for SCMs with trunk, branches and tags folders. You can take a look at the joomla project, there are standards to create a good structure. I used a mix of these on my project german for the german translation team. You can see the differences on the joomla!German and components repository of my project.

hope this helps

regards and thanks to rhuk
musicones
Joomla! German Translation Coordinator
Translation Partner Site for www.joomla.de

User avatar
MarkV
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2005 9:10 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: How to connect to SCM?

Post by MarkV » Sun Sep 18, 2005 8:37 am

I'm trying to connect to the SCM too, but, i'm using a apple.
No pro thou because eclipse runs on a apple.

With eclipse you have to give in:

Host: scm.joomla.org
Respository path: /svn/repos/your_repository_directory_name
User: markv
Pass: *****
Connectiontype: ext

So we click next.

In the next field we have to select a module name. Could this mean that the respository path should be  svn/repos/ and that your module name should be your_repository_directory_name? We don't know yet.
You can also choose Use existing module, but you will get a error from the cvs server.

I changed around the setting but i can't connect to the forge. I even tryed using ssh but it just won't work.

If i go to http://scm.joomla.org/svn/repos/your_re ... ctory_name using my browser i get a 403 message after giving in my username and password.

Anybody ?

-----------------

when i connect to it like this:

Respository path:svn/repos/dutchletterman13
with Connectiontype: ectshh
and i choose 'Use existing module'
it does say pending but returns nothing

when i choose 'Use specific module name' i can give it any name but the errror is:
'Root svn/sepos/dutchletterman13 must be a absolute pathname'

Respository path:svn/repos/dutchletterman13
with Connectiontype: ectshh
and i choose 'Use existing module'
return noting

when i choose 'Use specific module name' i can give it any name but the errror is:
'cannot access /svn/repos/dutchletterman13/CVSROOT' no such file in directory
Last edited by MarkV on Sun Sep 18, 2005 9:46 am, edited 1 time in total.
Joomla insite

User avatar
friesengeist
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 10:31 pm

Re: How to connect to SCM?

Post by friesengeist » Sun Sep 18, 2005 10:00 am

musicones wrote:3. What protocol will be used?

Having worked with SVN before I thought it would be svn:// or svn+ssh://. It is used on an other sourceforge site.
But here we use http://.


I've been trying for quite a while now to use svn+ssh:// as the protocol. After saving my ssh public key on http://developer.joomla.org/sf/global/do/viewUser/?selectedTab=authorizedKeys I was able to connect to scm.joomla.org via ssh. Unfortunately it seems that svn over ssh is disabled at the moment. Not that I expect to have shell access or anything, but as the server closes the connection right after logging in there is no chance to use svn+ssh:

[enno@fse-srv:~] $ssh -A -l friesengeist scm.joomla.org
Last login: Sun Sep 18 02:54:19 2005 from [...]
This is a restricted shell account
You cannot execute anything here.

Connection to scm.joomla.org closed.


Is it planned to enable svn+ssh lateron some time?
Do I maybe do something wrong and it is already enabled?

I see that there is also some stuff running on https. As an alternative for ssh, will https get enabled as soon as you guys got a real ssl-certificate?

Thanks for your good work!
We may not be able to control the wind, but we can always adjust our sails

User avatar
Gardener
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2005 3:19 pm
Location: Uppsala, Sweden
Contact:

Re: How to connect to SCM?

Post by Gardener » Sun Sep 18, 2005 10:09 am

Seems like there is a domain problem causing the subversion connection to fail. I hope this gets resolved soon, as I really want to get started on updating my components! =]
Last edited by Gardener on Sun Sep 18, 2005 10:12 am, edited 1 time in total.
Olle Johansson - My Joomla extensions: http://www.jxdevelopment.com

philmoz
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 58
Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2005 6:45 pm
Contact:

Re: How to connect to SCM?

Post by philmoz » Sun Sep 18, 2005 12:06 pm

FWIW
using  musicones guide, and after getting software (RapidSVN), I was able to access svn not by doing an import, but by using the bookmarks, and adding an existing repository putting http://scm.joomla.org/svn/repos/your_re ... ctory_name in the resulting dialog.

This was after creating repository using the sf web interface.

RapidSVN W95/98
TortoiseSVN for later versions of windows....

kezako13
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 6:19 am
Location: Fos sur Mer, France

Re: How to connect to SCM?

Post by kezako13 » Sun Sep 18, 2005 12:34 pm

Last edited by kezako13 on Sun Sep 18, 2005 12:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
mcjamison
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2005 4:17 am
Location: Fremont, CA

Re: How to connect to SCM?

Post by mcjamison » Mon Sep 19, 2005 4:34 am

Hi folks,

At the moment, http (or if configured appropriately, https) is the only protocol supported by SourceForge for Subversion. 

A tip for getting the connection URL for a repository: after navigating to a project's list of repositories (by clicking the "source code" icon in the toolbar), click on the repository's "commits this week" link.  This shows some repository details above the list of commits, including a sample checkout command line.  This is shown for CVS or Subversion.

-- Jamie

User avatar
Boomzilla
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 135
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2005 3:43 am
Location: San Francisco - earthquake ground zero
Contact:

Re: How to connect to SCM?

Post by Boomzilla » Mon Sep 19, 2005 5:10 am

Thanks Jamie -- good to have you here helping out.
Question - can you find a photo for your profile that is as lame as mine?

Col
Rich people are eccentric. Poor people are strange. I just aspire to be moderately odd.

User avatar
mcjamison
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2005 4:17 am
Location: Fremont, CA

Re: How to connect to SCM?

Post by mcjamison » Mon Sep 19, 2005 5:43 am

Boomzilla wrote:Question - can you find a photo for your profile that is as lame as mine?


I'll have to dig - this will have to do for starters...
-- J

User avatar
MarkV
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2005 9:10 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: How to connect to SCM?

Post by MarkV » Mon Sep 19, 2005 8:30 am

wOOt. I made a connection yeasterday. With eclipse on a apple. Special thanks to Jick. I’ll post the settings later on.
Joomla insite

User avatar
friesengeist
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 10:31 pm

Re: How to connect to SCM?

Post by friesengeist » Mon Sep 19, 2005 9:00 am

mcjamison wrote:At the moment, http (or if configured appropriately, https) is the only protocol supported by SourceForge for Subversion. 


Hi Jamie,

thanks for the info. Does this mean the ssh access is only for cvs?

Does https have to be configured appropriately by the users or by the server admins? Since I get a "PROPFIND failed" errormessage, I think it's on the server side. Although http works just fine, I would really appreciate it when https is made available for use. It's not an important issue though.
We may not be able to control the wind, but we can always adjust our sails

User avatar
MarkV
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2005 9:10 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: How to connect to SCM?

Post by MarkV » Mon Sep 19, 2005 9:52 am

Why do we want to use eclipse? Easy to use. Cross platform. Open Source, what more do we want.

After downloading en installing Eclipse we have to install two extra plugins.
The first is the php plugin witch will be used to edit PHP in Eclipse.

Installing PHP Eclipse

1. We go to: Help, Softwareupdate, find and install.
2. Select: 'Search for new features to install'
3. Choose: New remote site
4. User these parameters:
Name: php elcipse
Url: http://pipestonegroup.com/eclipse/updates
5. We check the checkbox and click Next.
6. A list of possibilities is presented. Select he latest PHP eclipse release and press finish.

***Note
PHP Elcipse will be installed. A reboot will be required.

Now we have too install a plugin called Subclipse. It will enable us to use the SVN used by the Joomla! Forge.

Installing Subclipse

1. Repeat the plugin install steps this time using the following parameters
Name: Subclipse
Url: http://subclipse.tigris.org/update

So all goes well. We have installed everything we need to start our project. Now lets make a SVN project in the developers zone.

Creating a SVN Repository

Follow these steps
1. Create an Repository under Source Code > Create Repository
2.  Enter Directory Name but NOTE: The directory will be created in the svn/repos folder, where all repository folders of each projects are. It could happen that your desired projectfolder is not available, bette use an prefix for your repositoryfolders. Once a folder and a Repository is created, you cannot change the foldername and you cannot delete the repository
3. Enter Repository Name
4.  Choose Server, you can choose between CVS and SVN. Use SVN.
5. Don't check Association Required on Commit. (thx too musicones)

If all goes well we now created a SVN repository.

Now lets use Eclipse to connect to the repository

Connect to the repository using eclipse

1. Start eclipse
2. Go to  Window, Show View, SNV repositories (this could also be named CVS repositories)
3. On the right top of the screen you will see the text cvs repositories (or SNV repositories) followed by the >> sign (more). Select SNV repositories here.
4. On the left a SNV repository view will beopend. If not go to Window, Open perspective, Other and choose SVN repository exploring.
5.  In the SVN repository exploring you will see a DB like icon with a + and the text SNV on the right top.. Click it.
6.  Use these settings:
url: http://scm.joomla.org/svn/repos/your_re ... ctory_name
root url: http://scm.joomla.org/
User: developers username
Pass: Your password.

Congratulations your connected. You can start working now :-)

If anybody has any addons or comments. Please let us now.
Joomla insite

User avatar
bluesaze
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 138
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 6:18 am
Location: India
Contact:

Re: How to connect to SCM?

Post by bluesaze » Mon Sep 19, 2005 9:58 am

Thanks Mark that is been really helpful........
A. N. Jacob-New
The Tech & Design Blog http://www.Clazh.com

User avatar
MarkV
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2005 9:10 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: How to connect to SCM?

Post by MarkV » Mon Sep 19, 2005 10:08 am

I have put it in de faq too.
Joomla insite

User avatar
mcjamison
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2005 4:17 am
Location: Fremont, CA

Re: How to connect to SCM?

Post by mcjamison » Mon Sep 19, 2005 6:00 pm

friesengeist wrote:
mcjamison wrote:At the moment, http (or if configured appropriately, https) is the only protocol supported by SourceForge for Subversion. 


Hi Jamie,

thanks for the info. Does this mean the ssh access is only for cvs?

Does https have to be configured appropriately by the users or by the server admins? Since I get a "PROPFIND failed" errormessage, I think it's on the server side. Although http works just fine, I would really appreciate it when https is made available for use. It's not an important issue though.


Yep - ssh access is only for cvs.  We went with supporting http access to Subversion because that was the cleanest way to hook in our authentication: as an Apache authentication plugin. 

Regarding https: yeah, that's a server setup issue, I believe.  One would have to set up an Apache front-end to direct the incoming hits on 443 over to the http port on 80.  I haven't had to do this, but this is probably described in the admin documentation...

-- Jamie

User avatar
Boomzilla
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 135
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2005 3:43 am
Location: San Francisco - earthquake ground zero
Contact:

Re: How to connect to SCM?

Post by Boomzilla » Mon Sep 19, 2005 7:06 pm

Jamie - do we need Doug to make this change on the site?

Thanks - Col
Rich people are eccentric. Poor people are strange. I just aspire to be moderately odd.

User avatar
mcjamison
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2005 4:17 am
Location: Fremont, CA

Re: How to connect to SCM?

Post by mcjamison » Thu Sep 22, 2005 6:09 pm

Boomzilla wrote:Jamie - do we need Doug to make this change on the site?


Yeah, probably - I'll ping him.

-- Jamie

User avatar
Boomzilla
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 135
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2005 3:43 am
Location: San Francisco - earthquake ground zero
Contact:

Re: How to connect to SCM?

Post by Boomzilla » Sat Oct 01, 2005 1:00 am

Schweet. Do you know if this was done?

Col
Rich people are eccentric. Poor people are strange. I just aspire to be moderately odd.

User avatar
fatflash
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 11:44 am
Location: Lisboa, Portugal
Contact:

Re: How to connect to SCM?

Post by fatflash » Tue Oct 04, 2005 11:27 pm

MarkV wrote:Why do we want to use eclipse? Easy to use. Cross platform. Open Source, what more do we want.


Amen, Brother!
Plus it works like a charm...

MarkV wrote:
1. Start eclipse
2. Go to  Window, Show View, SNV repositories (this could also be named CVS repositories)
3. On the right top of the screen you will see the text cvs repositories (or SNV repositories) followed by the >> sign (more). Select SNV repositories here.
4. On the left a SNV repository view will beopend. If not go to Window, Open perspective, Other and choose SVN repository exploring.
5.  In the SVN repository exploring you will see a DB like icon with a + and the text SNV on the right top.. Click it.
6.  Use these settings:
url: http://scm.joomla.org/svn/repos/your_re ... ctory_name
root url: http://scm.joomla.org/
User: developers username
Pass: Your password.

Congratulations your connected. You can start working now :-)

If anybody has any addons or comments. Please let us now.



Just wanted to add that http://scm.joomla.org/svn/repos/ is the link /svnroot/your_repository_directory_name that appears on the forge.
It took me some 10 minutes to figure it out, maybe because it's almost 00:30 am here, hehe.

Anyway, thanks MarkV for this post.
I believe admins should stick it and make a manual out of it.

Alberto
-------------------------------------
All together now!

User avatar
ianmac
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 237
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2005 11:01 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: How to connect to SCM?

Post by ianmac » Mon Feb 06, 2006 2:38 pm

Just a couple of questions...

How are people using Eclipse for component development?  I got Eclipse and phpEclipse installed and I got the dbg module installed into my xampp (although I'm not sure it is quite working yet in Eclipse), but I'm not sure how best to proceed, because I'm working on a component, but obviously a component is not stand alone - it requires the Joomla core (obviously).  So should I bring the whole Joomla code into my project?  Or how should I proceed?

As an aside, it is necessary for me to run on Windows.  So I have xampp installed.  So what interpreter should I use?  I tried c:\program files\xampp\php\php.exe first, but that seems to be the php 5 one, and I am running php 4.4.1.

Anyways, these are my questions...  any thoughts would be appreciated!

Ian
Help test my Component XML Generator Tool!
http://extensions.joomla.org/component/option,com_mtree/task,viewlink/link_id,1997/Itemid,35/
All feedback appreciated!


Post Reply